Comedians

If you want a list of good, clean comedians, I have a few. There’s John Branyan, Bob Smiley, Chonda Pierce, and Jonnie W.

The epitome of clean comedy has to be Tim Hawkins. Crown him to be the king, and the queen is Jeanne Robertson. Tim Hawkins has so many bits that its hard to narrow it down. I suggest searching for his ‘hand-raising’ bit. Jeanne Robertson’s best bit has to be ‘don’t send your husband to the grocery store.’

All of these men and women are hilarious, and completely clean. Trust me when I say that there is little I love more in life, besides God, than a good laugh. I think that one thing God has gifted to me. Even when I’m depressed, I can find things to laugh at. Makes the darkness just a little bit brighter. I don’t know why He gave me such a pronounced sense of humor, but He did.

Something I’ve noticed about myself over the years. I can remember two things very clearly: jokes and songs.

I’ve gone through two iPods, not including the one I have, and one computer crash. Unbeknownst to me, my father had copied my songs from my first iPod, and when I discovered the CD, I put the songs on there back on my current iPod. With a few hiccups, I remembered the vast majority of the two hundred or so songs. Not exactly word for word, but its close enough that its a little bit scary. I hadn’t heard some of those songs in over four years.

Now for jokes. I couldn’t quote Tim Hawkins’ acts word for word, but if the situation calls for it, I can quote the appropriate joke. And it’s not just Hawkins’ work. If I think its funny enough to warrant repeating, I will remember it. (Poultry-geist isn’t worth repeating, Dad. It’s just the worst joke I’ve ever heard.)

I don’t understand why God gifted me like that. Maybe I’m supposed to light up some dark places in people’s lives with laughs and songs of hope? I don’t know. I’ll find out one of these days. In God’s own time. May His will be done forever and always. Amen.

Leave a Reply

